TITLE:compressed air energy storage

Prof. Shengwei Mei

Tsinghua University


Mei Shengwei, is the Vice President and Dean of the School of New Energy at Qinghai University, Professor of the Department of Electrical Engineering of Tsinghua University, IEEE Fellow, IET Fellow, Fellow of the Chinese Society of Electrical Engineering, Fellow of the Chinese Society of Automation, winner of the National Outstanding Youth Fund, Ministry of Education Distinguished Professor of Changjiang Scholars, Academic Leader of Innovation Group of the Fund Committee, Kunlun Scholar of Qinghai Province, Chief Scientist of National Energy Storage Demonstration Project. His research interests include robust control of power systems, disaster prevention and control of large power grids, new energy power systems and large-scale energy storage. Presided over more than 30 projects such as the Fund Committee, 973, and National Science and Technology Support Program. He has published 476 journal papers (including 262 SCI papers) and 12 books (including 2 in English). He has been cited more than 20,000 times and has been granted 138 invention patents. He has won 1 second-class National Natural Science Award, 1 second-class National Science and Technology Progress Award and 12 provincial and ministerial-level first-class awards.


《Salt cavern compressed air energy storage power station in Jintan Jiangsu Province: Technology research and engineering practice》: (1) Research background; (2) Research approach; (3) Main technical contents; (4); Engineering practice and application; (5) Achievements and innovations; (6) Intellectual properties and evaluations; (7) Promotion and application prospect.

TITLE:Key Technologies and Prospects of Wireless Power Supply for Rail Transit

Prof. Zhengyou He

Southwest Jiaotong University


He Zhengyou, is the professor and Doctoral supervisor at Southwest Jiaotong University. He has been engaged in the research of safe, reliable, stable and efficient power supply technology for rail transit and energy power systems for a long time. Currently, he is the dean of the Institute of Smart City and Intelligent Transportation, Southwest Jiaotong University. He has been selected as the Yangtze River Scholar Distinguished Professor of the Ministry of Education, the recipient of the National Distinguished Young Scholars, the leading talents of Ten Thousand Talents Project, the young and middle-aged leading talents of the Ministry of Science and Technology, and the recipient of special allowances of the State Council. Currently, he is the Fellow of IET, the director of the China Electrotechnical Society, the deputy director of the Electrotechnical Mathematics Professional Committee of the Chinese Society of Electrical Engineering. He won two second prizes of the State Science and Technology Progress Award, five Ministerial and Provincial-Level Science and Technology Awards.

TITLE:1 MWh Na-Ion Batteries for Energy Storage

Prof.Yongsheng Hu

Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing 100190, China


Hu YongSheng is a full professor at the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. He received his Ph.D. in Condensed Matter Physics from IoP-CAS with Prof. Liquan Chen in 2004, and then moved to Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research as Postdoc and Principal researcher. After a short stay at the University of California at Santa Barbara, he joined IoP-CAS in 2008 and is working on advanced materials for long-life stationary batteries and their energy storage mechanism, particularly focusing on Na based batteries. His recent original contributions include: discover the electroactivity of Cu2+/Cu3+ redox couple in sodium containing oxides and design a series of Na-Cu-Fe-Mn-M-O cathode materials for Na-ion batteries; propose a superior low-cost amorphous carbon made from anthracite as an anode and develop amorphous carbon with over 400 mAh/g for Na-ion batteries; design zero-strain anode materials for Na-ion batteries; propose the use of “cationic potential” to predict the O and P stacking structures; propose a “Solvent-in-Salt” (high concentrated) electrolyte; etc. He has published over 300 internationally refereed SCI publications including ScienceNature Energy、Nature Mater.JouleNature Commun.Science Adv.etc, which have been cited over 30000 times according to ISI web of science with an H-index of 102. He was selected as a Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researchers from 2014 to 2022. He became the senior Editor of ACS Energy Letters from October of 2018. He also received several awards and honors, such as The National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, The 14th China Youth Science and Technology Award, Tajima Prize, Fellow of The Institute of Physics (UK), Fellow of The Royal Society of Chemistry, etc.

TITLE:Application of batteries for heavy vehicles in Europe – trucks, mining and trains

Prof. Erik Dahlquist

Malardalen University


Erik Dahlquist, professor at Malardalen University in Vasteras, Sweden

Transportation is responsible for approximately 20-25% of global fossil CO2 emissions, and heavy vehicles for approximately 5% of global emissions. Many companies are developing electrified vehicles. For trucks batteries will be used mostly for shorter distances while probably fuel cells with Hydrogen as fuel for longer distances. In Europe major manufacturers are building charging infrastructure jointly to speed up this transition. For trains we already have some 30% of the lines electrified but see a huge potential to add batteries to the trains to replace need for diesel engines for shorter distances. For mining industries there is a huge improvement with electric vehicles instead of diesel to avoid the need to ventilate dangerous combustion gases. Still there is a small risk for fires from overheated batteries which needs to be addressed. A discussion is also made about interaction between transportation and industrial use of hydrogen and the possibility for large scale storage in especially steel industry. Hydrogen produced from wind and solar could be stored and used also for other applications when there is a lack of wind and sun. Finally secondary life of batteries is discussed before the final recycling of the battery system materials.


Keynote Speakers


Post-conference Activities